A New Sense of Pride… Jaguar Pride…

Have you ever found yourself thinking, “I am living my dream”?

Every morning, for the past four weeks, I have found myself saying just that.

I use to say, “When I grow up, I want to be a lawyer… I want to be a model… I want to be a professional janitor… I want to be a clown…” (and no, I did not make the last two up… I said both when I was a junior in high school, and I was quite serious)…

What is funny about my list above is that it changed quite often, and went from one extreme to the next. What didn’t change however, was my sincerity about each. If you know me, you know about my commitment and dedication, and whether I wanted to be a clown or a doctor, what you can believe is I would have been the best. Strangely enough, I changed my mind again, and at the age of ____ I am not serving in either of those capacities today, but doing something even better and even more rewarding.

Today I am living a dream I came up with when I was a senior in high school. After being mistreated for reasons I will not name, I decided something needed to be done to help students like me move ahead further than just high school, but on to a place that will help them to reach their dream of choice. I decided I did not want to argue the rest of my life, I did not want to clean the rest of my life, I did not want complain the rest of my life… I wanted to help mold children and change their lives… As a senior in high school, and three months before graduation, I decided I wanted to be an educator…

And here I am, four years later… the most recent Government and Economics teacher at Wilcox Central High School in Camden, AL. IMG_4079 IMG_4078 IMG_4080IMG_4075

I am so thankful to God for the blessings he has given me in life. A great job, new friends, and amazing students who have already made a lasting impact on my life. Each day and night, I ask God to continue blessing me to be an encouragement to my students… To let them see something in me that they admire and seek after themselves. I do more than just teaching… I INcourage, and push, and challenge them to be better. My job is more than just teaching about the three branches of government… It is about creating the leaders of tomorrow… Ask about me… They will tell you…

IMG_4013

2013-14 Varsity Squad

IMG_4014

2013-14 JV Squad

And I almost forgot… Along with landing a wonderful teaching position months after graduation, I have also been given the opportunity to be the cheerleader coach for the WCHS Jaguars. When I was offered the position, all I could think about was my senior year in high school when I was told I did not make the varsity squad after 5 years of cheering. I thought about the pain and hurt I felt, and how my mom told me that there was something better in store for me… Look at me now… My my my, how things work out… lol… Allow me to introduce you to my squad… They are quite special to me… 🙂 It’s only been a few weeks, but I love these girls with all my heart… I look forward to spending much more time with them and getting to know them… oh yea… go follow us on ig –> @wchs_cheerleaders and we do follow back lol…

One more thing before I go… I was born an Aggie, I graduated a Badger, but now, I must admit, I am a WCHS Jaguar… 🙂

IMG_4076

Until next time, kisses and more…

-J. NeKole —- Ms. Holly

One thought on “A New Sense of Pride… Jaguar Pride…

  1. congrats on everything! I’m sure you are a wonderful cheer sponsor & teacher! I’m sure the kids enjoy your class, & I’m proud of you! Keep doing big things, Jaz! Love you!

Leave a Reply

