Friday Feature: Swagged Up – College Boy Edition

Do you remember graduating from high school? Walking across the stage, shaking hands with your principal, and thinking about how you were going to show out when you made it to your respective college or university?

I remember back in 2009 when I first arrived at Spring Hill College. I remember the black body con dress that I wore to Risque’ the very first time, the gray jean and yellow tank I wore on the first day of class, and even the pin stripe shorts I wore to my very first NPHC Side Walk Step Show at the University of South Alabama.

Yall, I thought I was looking good. Thank God I have no pictures to document those disasters, because now that I think about it, it was not cute at all.

But kids these days are different. With all this social media, like the Infamous Instagram, these youngsters stay fresh. Let me introduce you to my FIRST Friday Feature: Christopher Williams

IMG_2697

 

I was fortunate to meet Chris when I was teaching Vacation Bible School at my home church, Mt. Olive #2 Baptist Church this past week, and let me tell you, he is a jewel.

IMG_2700

For some strange reason, I am constantly talking about my baby, Mrs. Clark Gent, and during one of our discussions while working on a craft, Chris informed me that he would like to grace the pages of my blog. If I’m not mistaken, the conversation went a little something like this…

Me: So you want to be on my fashion blog?…

Chris: I mean, you know, I stay swagged up… Ya feel me?… 

Me: Umm… okay, I feel ya… lol… So you be swagged huh?…

Chris: Yea man… Stay swagged up, ya feel me… I’m gonna be swagged for ya tomorrow.. fa sho…

Me: Okay… lol… I got ya

Now this conversation happened on a Wednesday, and needless to say, on Thursday, he returned to my class… but he was surely not “swagged up”. He gave me some sap story about waking up late, and clothes being moved, and blah blah blah. But he assured me that on Friday he would would not disappoint me… and disappoint me, he did not.

IMG_2702

 

IMG_2701

 

Chris showed up, and he was swagged to the absolute max. He was wearing clothing (top and bottom) made by LRG (Lifted Research Group), and these clean, and I mean CLEAN Air Jordan 5 Retro Grapes. Now, I’m usually not really into this style, but I must admit, I was really feeling this look. I think it was his vibe, confidence, and swagg that made me love it. As well as the fact that he was so knowledgeable about his clothing. My explanation about LRG couldn’t do it justice (something about saving plants and what not), but just know LRG is an amazing clothing company, and you should defiantly check it out.

I’m not sure if T-town is ready for Mr. Williams. In the fall, Chris will be beginning the next phase of his life. He will be attending Shelton State Community College in Tuscaloosa, AL where he will be majoring in Engineering; and after, he will be joining the United States Air Force. This guy is not only stylish, but he has brains as well. If I remember correctly, he received multiple awards for his skills in Math, and even served as a Boy State representative for Jackson High School. Ladies and gents, he is a force to be reckoned, so watch out for him… He is destined for greatness.

I am so elated that I was able to meet this young man, and I am so proud to see any young man (esp. African American) striving to be great. Chris, you are awesome, and Mrs. Clark Gent (also known as Ms. Holly) salutes you. Best wishes and be great…. 🙂

IMG_2696 IMG_2698 IMG_2699

Be on the look out for new things from Mrs. Gent… Friday Features and much more… 🙂

Until next time, kisses and more…

-J. NeKole

One thought on “Friday Feature: Swagged Up – College Boy Edition

  1. Nice!
    It’s not my style either, but he does have swagger! Good luck in everything, Christoper!
    Meanwhile, How can I be a feature?

Leave a Reply

