Little Miss Sunshine…

Have you ever been awoken by the sunshine coming through your blinds?

It sounds poetic, but let me be the first to tell you, it is not cool. After a night of going out dancing, having drinks, and “turnin up”, the last thing you want is to wake up with the sun shining in your face. You will find yourself sweating, hot, and irritated, and that is not how you want to start your day.

Now do not get me wrong, I love the sunshine. I INjoy cleaning with the blinds open, and having the sunlight to flood my room. I think having the windows and blinds open inviting God’s natural light to come in helps to contribute to a positive atmosphere. I am so thankful that God wakes me up each day, and allows me to see the beauty of the world.

IMG_2718

The beauty of nature: the trees, the flowers, brooks, streams, rivers, the clouds, the sky, etc., is amazing. Sometimes, I find myself engulfed in my thoughts about how beautiful the sky is at various times of the day, or admiring the shapes, colors, and placements of trees, and how they create the ultimate backdrop Β (like my graduation setting, Spring Hill College-Avenue of the Oaks).

Avenue of oaks

So when I woke up this past Thursday, with the natural light flooding my room, I knew what I wanted to wear for the day… my yellow hi-low dress from Charlotte Russe.

IMG_2716

This dress is so light and easy to wear. I falls victim to the “hi-low” trend, but that does not bother me at all. Actually, I think I like that trend. When I think about it, I have many hi-low dresses… I happen to be wearing one as I’m writing this post.

The yellow dress made me feel good. It made me happy, and gave me a positive outlook on the day. The dress fit my curves well, and the color highlighted my chocolate skin. I paired it with a skinny yellow belt, a yellow statement necklace, complimenting yellow earrings (compliments of my sissy ig –> _fashionablybombb), and I completed the look with a pair of cognac sandals with the matching clutch.

IMG_2714

All in all, it was a good day. Beautiful weather, simple, yet beautiful fashion, and even better company. My boo was in town, and he helped to keep the smile on my face. We have this little song we like to sing each other… let me share it with you, and maybe, you will smile too:

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy, when skies are gray. You’ll never know dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take, my sunshine, away.” πŸ™‚

IMG_2715 IMG_2712

IMG_2713

Until next time, kisses and more…

-J. NeKole

One thought on “Little Miss Sunshine…

Leave a Reply

